Skip to main content
Abdeckung

Sustainable, Certified Energy Management

 

Certification

BENE Project for the Certification of Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH according to DIN EN ISO 50001:2018 for Sustainable Energy Management

Bene-Certification-Logo

For years, as the operator of the Berlin-Buch campus, Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH (CBB) has systematically focused on energy efficiency. Nevertheless, there are still possibilities on the campus to save energy and  reduce carbon dioxide emissions by switching to renewable energy sources. In order to determine and exploit this potential, the CBB has independently developed and introduced an energy management system. This system has now been adapted to the renewed standard DIN EN ISO 50001: 2018. This process was funded by the Berlin Sustainable Development Program (BENE), which is co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). The aim of the program is to sustainably and profitably support the reduction of CO2  emissions in the commercial and public sectors in order to reconcile economic growth and resource conservation and to sensitize everyone involved to the topic of energy efficiency. The ecological structural change is to be accelerated and the quality of life and the environment in Berlin to be improved through an environmentally friendly infrastructure.

Following the revision of the standard in 2018, the new criteria, valid from 2019, were applied for the first time in the region on the Buch campus. The CBB was successfully supported by the network "green with IT" and other specialist service providers. The certification process was completed by the European cooperative verico SCE, which is accredited for this purpose, in October 2019. CBB received a certificate valid for three years.

As part of the certification, a high-level structure was established – a basic framework for the implementation of standardized processes in the management system. This structure also facilitates the link with other building operators on the campus and in the district, for example. In addition, key energy-relevant factors in the BiotechPark were analyzed – from building technology to the supply of district heating. The existing digital meter management formed a very good basis for recording the key energy figures of laboratories, offices or cooling areas in the BiotechPark in a differentiated manner and comparing them with other locations.

As part of the certification, a high-level structure was established and energy-relevant factors were analyzed in the BiotechPark, from building technology to the supply of district heating. This has resulted in pilot projects: In cooperation with the Technical University of Berlin, tests are being carried out in buildings of the biotech park to see how heat transfer can be optimized using self-learning algorithms. A digital simulation of the local refrigeration system is also being tested in order to optimize its operation. By using modern equipment or retrofitting it with modern technologies, the campus could save around 460,000 kilowatt hours from 2021. That corresponds to around 152 tons of CO2.

The certification of Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH as part of the BENE project was co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

direkt zum Inhalt springen
Abdeckung

Nachhaltiges, zertifiziertes Energiemanagement

 

Zertifizierung

BENE-Projekt zur Zertifizierung der Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH nach DIN EN ISO 50001:2018 für nachhaltiges Energiemanagement

Bene-Zertifizierung-Logo

Die Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH (CBB) setzt als Betreiberin des Campus Berlin-Buch seit Jahren konsequent auf Energieeffizienz. Dennoch lässt sich an vielen Stellen des Campus Berlin-Buch weiterhin Energie einsparen oder durch erneuerbare Energien ersetzen, um den Ausstoß an Kohlenstoffdioxid zu verringern. Um diese Potenziale zu ermitteln und auszuschöpfen, hat die CBB eigenständig ein Energiemanagementsystem entwickelt und eingeführt. Dieses System wurde nun an den erneuerten Standard DIN EN ISO 50001:2018 angepasst. Gefördert wurde dieser Prozess mit Mitteln des Berliner Programms für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BENE), das aus dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) kofinanziert wird. Ziel des Programmes ist es, nachhaltig und gewinnbringend die Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen im gewerblichen und öffentlichen Bereich zu unterstützen, um Wirtschaftswachstum und Ressourcenschonung in Einklang zu bringen und alle Beteiligten für das Thema Energieeffizienz zu sensibilisieren. Durch eine umweltentlastende Infrastruktur soll der ökologische Strukturwandel beschleunigt und die Lebens- und Umweltqualität Berlins verbessert werden.

Nach der Revision der Norm im Jahr 2018 wurden die neuen, ab 2019 geltenden Kriterien auf dem Campus Buch erstmalig in der Region angewendet. Dabei wurde die CBB erfolgreich vom Netzwerk „green with IT“ e.V. und weiteren Fachdienstleistern unterstützt. Den Zertifizierungsprozess schloss die hierfür akkreditierte, europäische Genossenschaft verico SCE im Oktober 2019 ab. Die CBB erhielt ein drei Jahre gültiges Zertifikat.

Im Rahmen der Zertifizierung wurde eine High-Level-Struktur etabliert – ein Grundgerüst für die Implementierung normierter Prozesse im Managementsystem. Diese Struktur erleichtert zum Beispiel auch die Verknüpfung mit weiteren Gebäude-Betreibern auf dem Campus und im Stadtteil. Darüber hinaus wurden wesentliche energierelevante Faktoren im BiotechPark analysiert – von der Gebäudetechnik bis hin zur Versorgung mit Fernwärme. Das vorhandene digitale Zählermanagement bildete eine sehr gute Grundlage, um die Energiekennzahlen von Laboren, Büros oder Kühlflächen im BiotechPark differenziert zu erfassen und mit anderen Standorten vergleichen zu können.

Im Rahmen der Zertifizierung wurden eine High-Level-Struktur etabliert und energierelevante Faktoren im BiotechPark analysiert, von der Gebäudetechnik bis hin zur Versorgung mit Fernwärme. Daraus resultieren Pilotprojekte: In Kooperation mit der Technischen Universität Berlin wird in Gebäuden des Biotechparks erprobt, wie die Wärmeübertragung durch selbstlernende Algorithmen optimiert werden kann. Erprobt wird auch eine digitale Simulation des Kältenahverbundsystems, um dessen Betrieb zu optimieren. Durch den Einsatz moderner Geräte oder durch Nachrüstung mit modernen Technologien könnte der Campus ab 2021 rund 460.000 Kilowattstunden einsparen. Das entspricht rund 152 Tonnen CO2.

Die Zertifizierung der Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH im Rahmen des BENE-Projekts wurde kofinanziert durch den Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE).

https://www.campusberlinbuch.de/pdf/CBB_Stromkennzeichnung2019.pdf