Skip to main content
Abdeckung

Sustainability

 

Green Health Campus

Health and sustainability are topics that are reflected in the concept of the “Green Health Campus”. This starts with the framework planning for the campus, extends to the equipment of laboratory buildings, to social issues such as the compatibility of work and family or knowledge transfer.

Re-newable energie course at the Life Science Learning Lab
Insects on campus

Botany and Biodiversity

An important ecological concern is to preserve the large park-like green spaces and the forest-like areas. In the future, climate-resistant plants and trees are to be planted and biodiversity is to be promoted more strongly. In cooperation with the Eberswalde University for Sustainable Development wildflower meadows were planted for the first time in 2020. Students are providing scientific support for the project. The Life Science Learning Lab has integrated insect monitoring into its educational work. The meadows also provide additional food for the campus' bee colonies. In the future, the wildflower meadows will be signposted and nature trails for woody plants, lichens and fungi will be created.

Insect friendly meadow on campus

Sustainable Laboratories

At the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC), the Green MDCampus project has been continuously developed for several years. In 2020, the MDC appointed a sustainability officer and is thus committed to sustainable development on an economic, social and ecological level. In terms of laboratories, this ranges from infrastructure projects to reducing air exchange rates to purchasing sustainable materials. The Laboratory Round, a conference for modern and sustainable laboratory buildings, has been organized and held by the MDC for many years.

The newly founded FMP Green Initiative of the Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie aims at environmentally conscious actions in the laboratories. This includes simple things that can already make a big difference, such as regularly defrosting laboratory refrigerators or collecting suitable disposable gloves for recycling.

Mobility

The focus of the campus development is on environmentally friendly mobility that serves the climate and health in equal measure. The campus was recognized by the ADFC 2019 for its bike-friendliness – the free CAMPUSbike is only part of it. The campus facilities are increasingly using e-mobiles for internal delivery traffic or on-call duty. Charging stations have been installed on campus for eCars. https://www.campusberlinbuch.de/de/mobility

The Life Science Learning Lab

Energy Management

The CBB has developed its own energy management system, which was adapted to the DIN ISO 50001-2018 standard in 2019. As part of the certification, energy-relevant factors in the BiotechPark were analyzed, from building technology to the supply of district heating. By using modern equipment or retrofitting with modern technologies, the campus could save around 460,000 kilowatt hours from 2021. That corresponds to around 152 tons of CO2.

Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH, which is also an energy supplier itself, has been procuring 100 % green electricity since 2020. In order to enable synergies for all of Buch as location of future innovation, an energetic concept for the Quartier was developed with the district and other stakeholders. https://www.campusberlinbuch.de/de/energiemanagement

Health and Work-Life Balance

The company health management CampusVital promotes the health of campus employees very directly: through sports courses, coaching on work-life balance or health days. The Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine and the Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie attach particular importance to supporting their employees in balancing work and family. The green campus offers opportunities to relax or work outdoors. There are plans to expand outdoor sports such as a fitness course or a beach volleyball court. To strengthen social interaction, summer parties, the campus cinema or concerts are held on campus.

Long Night of the Sciences

Education and Knowledge Transfer

Creating new knowledge and imparting knowledge, promoting young talent in the natural sciences, training and further educating specialists and showing the public what research is being done on campus – all this has to do with sustainability.

The Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine and the  Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie offer young scientists excellent conditions for doctoral studies, research projects and internships. Numerous trainees also benefit from the international environment of the research institutes.

With the Life Science Learning Lab Buch not only has a special extracurricular venue for learning. Together with partners such as the TÜV Rheinland Academy and the Federal Association of the Pharmaceutical Industry, the Academy of the Life Science Learning Lab provides in-service training for laboratory staff, scientists and entrepreneurs. The Researcher Holidays combine an exciting program of experiments on campus with games and sports. Kindergarten and primary school children enjoy learning in the research garden: here, even four-year-olds can discover natural phenomena through experimentation.

With the innovative training series "Lab Meets Teachers", the MDC invites science teachers to experiment in the labs. New specialist knowledge, technological developments and facts from current research are taught as interactively as possible.

Traditionally, the Berlin-Buch campus is a major attraction during the Long Night of the Sciences, when researchers provide insights into their laboratories and research.

direkt zum Inhalt springen
Abdeckung

Nachhaltigkeit

 

Green Health Campus

Gesundheit und Nachhaltigkeit sind Themen, die sich im Leitbild des „Green Health Campus“ widerspiegeln. Dies fängt an bei der Rahmenplanung für den Campus, reicht über die Ausstattung von Laborgebäuden bis hin zu sozialen Fragen wie Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie oder Wissensvermittlung.

Energiewendekurs im Gläsernen Labor
Insekten auf dem Campus

Botanik und Artenvielfalt

Wichtiges ökologisches Anliegen ist es, die großen parkähnlichen Grünflächen und die waldartigen Bereiche zu erhalten. Künftig sollen klimaresistente Pflanzen und Bäume angepflanzt und die Artenvielfalt stärker gefördert werden. In Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Nachhaltige Entwicklung Eberswalde wurden 2020 erstmals Wildblumenwiesen angelegt. Studierende begleiten das Projekt wissenschaftlich. Das Gläsernen Labor hat ein Insekten-Monitoring in seine Bildungsarbeit integriert. Die Wiesen bieten auch zusätzliche Nahrung für die Bienenvölker des Campus. Künftig sollen die Wildblumenwiesen beschildert und Lehrpfade für Gehölze, Flechten und Pilze angelegt werden.

Insektenfreundliche Wiese auf dem Campus

Nachhaltige Labore

Am Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin (MDC) wird seit einigen Jahren das Projekt Green MDCampus kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. 2020 hat das MDC einen Nachhaltigkeitsbeauftragten eingesetzt und bekennt sich damit zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung auf ökonomischer, sozialer und ökologischer Ebene. Bezogen auf Labore, reicht dies von Infrastrukturprojekten über die Einsparung von Luftwechselraten bis hin zum Einkauf nachhaltiger Materialien. Die Laborrunde, eine Konferenz für moderne und nachhaltige Laborbauten, wird seit vielen Jahren vom MDC organisiert und durchgeführt.

Die neu gegründete FMP Green Initiative vom Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie zielt auf umweltbewusstes Handeln in den Laboren. Das Labor von Volker Haucke wurde vor kurzem durch die Non-Profit-Organisation „My Green Lab“ mit der höchsten Auszeichnung als erstes „grünes Labor“ Deutschlands ausgezeichnet. In seinem Labor wurden u.a. Energiesparmaßnahmen, ein Abfalltrennsystem sowie ein Recyclingmechanismus für Laborhandschuhe eingeführt. https://www.leibniz-fmp.de/de/education/career/deutsche-version

Mobilität

Im Fokus der Campusentwicklung steht umweltfreundliche Mobilität, die dem Klima und der Gesundheit gleichermaßen dient. Der Campus wurde vom ADFC 2019 für seine Fahrradfreundlichkeit ausgezeichnet – das kostenlose CAMPUSbike ist nur ein Teil davon. Die Campuseinrichtungen nutzen zunehmend E-Mobile für interne Lieferverkehre oder den Bereitschaftsdienst. Für eCars wurden auf dem Campus Ladesäulen installiert. https://www.campusberlinbuch.de/de/mobility

Im Gläsernen Labor

Energiemanagement

Die CBB hat ein eigenes Energiemanagementsystem entwickelt, das 2019 an den Standard DIN ISO 50001-2018 angepasst wurde. Im Rahmen der Zertifizierung wurden energierelevante Faktoren im BiotechPark analysiert, von der Gebäudetechnik bis hin zur Versorgung mit Fernwärme. Durch den Einsatz moderner Geräte oder durch Nachrüstung mit modernen Technologien könnte der Campus ab 2021 rund 460.000 Kilowattstunden einsparen. Das entspricht rund 152 Tonnen CO2.

Die Campus Berlin-Buch GmbH, die auch selbst Energieversorger ist, beschafft seit 2020 zu 100 % Grünstrom. Um perspektivisch Synergien für den gesamten Zukunftsort Buch zu ermöglichen, wurde mit dem Bezirk und anderen Akteuren ein energetisches Quartierskonzept entwickelt. https://www.campusberlinbuch.de/de/energiemanagement

Gesundheit und Work-Life-Balance

Das Betriebliche Gesundheitsmanagement CampusVital fördert die Gesundheit der Campusbeschäftigten ganz unmittelbar: durch Sportkurse, Coachings zur Work-Life-Balance oder Gesundheitstage. Das Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin und das Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie legen besonderen Wert darauf, ihre Beschäftigten bei der Vereinbarung von Beruf und Familie zu unterstützen. Der grüne Campus bietet Möglichkeiten, sich zu erholen oder im Freien zu arbeiten. Geplant ist, Sportmöglichkeiten im Freien wie einen Fitness-Parcours oder ein Beachvolleyballfeld auszubauen. Um das soziale Miteinander zu stärken, werden Sommerfeste, das Campus-Kino oder Konzerte auf dem Campus veranstaltet.

Lange Nacht der Wissenschaften

Bildung und Wissensvermittlung

Neues Wissen schaffen und Wissen vermitteln, den Nachwuchs in den Naturwissenschaften fördern, Fachkräfte aus- und weiterbilden und der Öffentlichkeit zeigen, woran auf dem Campus geforscht wird – all dies hat mit Nachhaltigkeit zu tun.

Das Max-Delbrück-Centrum für Molekulare Medizin und das Leibniz-Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pharmakologie bieten dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs exzellente Bedingungen für Promotionsvorhaben, Forschungsprojekte und Praktika. Vom internationalen Umfeld der Forschungsinstitute profitieren auch zahlreiche Auszubildende.

Mit dem Gläsernen Labor verfügt Buch nicht nur über einen besonderen außerschulischen Lernort. Gemeinsam mit Partnern wie der TÜV Rheinland-Akademie und dem Bundesverband Pharmazeutischer Industrie bildet die Akademie des Gläsernen Labors berufsbegleitend Laborkräfte, Wissenschaftler und Unternehmer weiter. Die Forscherferien verbinden ein spannendes Experimentierprogramm auf dem Campus mit Spiel und Sport. Kindergarten- und Grundschulkinder lernen mit Freude im Forschergarten: Hier können bereits Vierjährige Naturphänomene im Experiment entdecken.

Mit der innovativen Fortbildungsreihe „Labor trifft Lehrer“ lädt das MDC Lehrkräfte in den Naturwissenschaften zum Experimentieren in die Labore ein. So interaktiv wie möglich werden neues Fachwissen, technologische Entwicklungen und Fakten aus der aktuellen Forschung vermittelt.

Traditionell ist der Campus Berlin-Buch ein großer Anziehungspunkt zur Langen Nacht der Wissenschaften, wenn die Forscherinnen und Forscher Einblicke in ihre Labore und ihre Forschung geben.

Kalender Icon

Veranstaltungen

Alle Termine
Kalender Icon

06.12.2021, 09:00 bis
06.12.2021, 17:00
Good Clinical Clinical Practice (GCP)

Kalender Icon

31.08.2022, 09:00 bis
03.09.2022, 18:00
From Target to Market - The GLA Biotech & Pharma Summer School